Why I Drove around Manila for 4 Hours: My Quest for GetGo Peso+

Hello Internet! It’s been awhile!

You might think it is crazy that I would be driving around Metro Manila for four (4) hours for GetGo Peso+. But if you are an adventure-seeking millennial, like myself, with no credit line, this rewards-earning card might just be what you need.

IMG_E1342.JPG
~ One step closer to my dream adventures with my own GetGo Peso + ~

Almost two weeks ago, I saw the GetGo Peso+ ad and became curious about this new product collab between Cebu Pacific and Union Bank. After learning more about their offer, I decided to register for my own GetGo Peso+.

Registration was hassle free as you can do it online and the pick-up of the physical VISA prepaid card can be done in your nearest Union Bank or Robinsons Mall. However, for security reasons, upon signing up online you only have 14 days to claim your card.

This security feature prompted me to go on a mall hopping trip to claim my physical card over the weekend as the expiration of my registration was fast approaching and the  mall of my choice, Robinsons Place Manila, was out of cards.

I was so frustrated to learn that Robinsons Place Manila ran out of stock and that they won’t be restocking until Monday. After all, it was not easy finding the pick-up point as the GetGo Peso + website did not really say where in the mall you should pick-up the card. I just figured that the in-house business centre was a good place to start looking.

Fortunately, the Business Center personnel were kind enough to check on other business centres which may still have stocks. After a few phone calls, we learned that Robinsons Magnolia had three (3) cards left and I asked if I could reserve one. I then made my way from Manila to New Manila.

With the some help from Waze, my memory, and my navigation skills, I made it to Robinsons Magnolia with only one casualty — my phone’s battery. The drive was far from scenic but it was memorable as it is  not everyday that I get to pass through Pasig River, Sta. Mesa and parts of San Juan. Acquiring this card was such an adventure but I can’t wait to make use of it for more exciting adventures here and abroad with Cebu Pacific.

Using this GetGo Peso+ I can earn GetGo points as I pay for groceries, shopping, flights and more where VISA is accepted.  For every P 88 I spend, I earn one (1) GetGo point, which I can then accumulate to redeem free flights and other upgrades on Cebu Pacific.

Since I pay for all sort of bills and expenses why not earn points that I can spend for flights with the largest Philippine carrier, di ba? That’s what I call making my money work for me (i.e. getting me that dream vacation).

P.S.

This is not a paid post but I wish it was. #parinig

 

 

 

Leave a comment